Reed Magazine Sri Lanka | About IndiaWelcome to Seychelles

    At a Glance

    Creole: Repiblik Sesel

    English: Republic of Seychelles

    French: République des Seychelles

    Country Calling Code: +248

    Capital City: Victoria (pop. 24 500)

    Government: Type: Multiple-party republic.

    Independence: June 29, 1976 (from UK).

    Location: Eastern Africa, group of about 115 islands scattered over 1.3 million square kilometers of the western Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar.

    Area: 455 km² (176 sq km)

    Major Islands: Mahe, Praslin and La Digue.

    Terrain: About half of the islands are of granitic origin, with narrow coastal strips and central ranges of hills rising to more than 900 m; highest point: Morne Seychellois at 905 m.

    Climate: Tropical marine; humid; cooler season during southeast monsoon (late May to September); warmer season during northwest monsoon (March to May)

    Nationality: Noun and adjective-Seychellois.

    Population 92,000 (2015)

    Ethnic groups: Creole (European, Asian, and African).

    Religions: Catholic 86.6%, Anglican Church 6.8%, other Christians 2.5%, other 4.1%.

    Languages: Official languages are Seychelles Creole (kreol seselwa), English, and French.

    Literacy: between 60-80%.

    Natural resources: Fish, copra, cinnamon trees.

    Agriculture products: Coconuts, cinnamon, vanilla, sweet potatoes, cassava (tapioca), bananas; broiler chickens; tuna fish.

    Industries: Fishing; tourism; processing of coconuts and vanilla, coir (coconut fiber) rope, boat building, printing, furniture; beverages.

    Exports – commodities: canned tuna, frozen fish, petroleum products (reexports)

    Currency: Seychelles Rupee (SCR)